Heading to the sunny South - Reisverslag uit Monterey, Verenigde Staten van Charlotte Tongeren - WaarBenJij.nu Heading to the sunny South - Reisverslag uit Monterey, Verenigde Staten van Charlotte Tongeren - WaarBenJij.nu

Heading to the sunny South

Door: Charlotte

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Charlotte

26 Februari 2013 | Verenigde Staten, Monterey

Good Evening!

It's time for another blog. I am writing from our motelroom in Seaside along Highway nr. 1. With 'we' I mean Angelika, Ilsus, Emese and I. This was already the second day of our Highway nr.1 roadtrip with end destination: San Diego. The more South we go, the warmer it gets!

But before we picked up the car two days ago, we had an amazing weekend at Brians place in Berkeley! When Emese and I got there (at there beautiful mansion in the Berkeley hills with a stunning panoramic view), he first showed us the campus of Berkeley University. That was really nice. After that we had lunch together with most of his housemates (in total there with 9) and we could all get along very well. Angelika and her friend Ilsus arrived at about 4 pm, and I was finally reunited with my german friend! At night we made dinner together, and after that we all went to out to party! 'The day after' we took it slow (haha) and we saw a little bit more of downtown Berkeley. So on sunday we sad goodbye to Brian (I was a little sad, because he became a really good friend of mine) and hit the road with the four of us! Here come the girls! The first day of Highway nr. 1 we went to Santa Cruz, which was our take off for the highway. Very nice town to see, and already a few degrees warmer than in the Bay Area ( San Francisco etc.). From Santa Cruz we drove to a town just before Monterey, Seaside where we are now too, to call it the day. This morning we drove to Monterey, where we had breakfast in the cutest little restaurant along the coastal boulevard. Angelika knows her way around very well here, because she stayed in Monterey before. We then visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium where we could use the aquarium passes we borrowed from Sandy (she's a woman I met in the Bed&Breakfast in Fort Bragg, and she said whenever we were in Monterey, we could stop by and borrow their passes for the day). So millions of questions, some acting skills and a heartattack later we finally got into the aquarium. Really big + really cool! We then decided to drive on the '17-mile drive' which is a 17-miles-long-street where the richest people in California live. Gigantic houses with amazing views. The drive ended in a town called Carmel, also very posh but pretty, haha.

And tonight we're staying in another motel near Monterey. Tomorrow we are going to do Big Sur in one day, which leaves us enough time to do some hiking in between as well (we heard about some waterfalls along the way) :) We'll probably end in Morro Bay in the evening.

Please check my facebookaccount for some pictures I took along the way.
Every time I am still stunned by the view of the Californian Coast. And I am so happy that we met Angelika, it's great to travel together with them!

If you will excuse me, I am going to try to reach my folks back at home.
Please keep reading, and I'll keep blogging!

Lots of Love,

Charlotte


  • 26 Februari 2013 - 09:10

    Karen:

    Meine Liebe,

    es war richtig schoen gerade mit dir geskypt zu haben, auch wenn du manchmal auf dem Kopf standest, haha. Man kann auf den neuen Foto's gut sehen, dass es mit jedem Kilometer, den ihr suedlicher kommt, waermer wird. Viele Gruesse an deine Reisegenossinnen und erstmal gute Nacht!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kuss Mama

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Charlotte

Hello dear friends and family! As you all know, I will be travelling through the USA the coming 5 months! I decided to keep an online diary, so you can all read my daily adventures I'm having back there. I would very much like if you would post a comment every now and then, so I know what you guys are up to back in Europe! This is hopefully an easy way to stay in touch with each other. Looking forward! Lots of love, Liefs, Alles Liebe, Charlotte

Actief sinds 11 Nov. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 312
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20602

Voorgaande reizen:

21 November 2012 - 19 April 2013

USA trip!

Landen bezocht: