Bonfire at the beach - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Charlotte Tongeren - WaarBenJij.nu Bonfire at the beach - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Charlotte Tongeren - WaarBenJij.nu

Bonfire at the beach

Door: Charlotte

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Charlotte

08 Januari 2013 | Verenigde Staten, Fort Bragg

Bienvenue on another blog, my friends!

It's so nice and quiet in Fort Bragg, now the holidays are over. The last week I had more time to go into town, explore the shops a little more and I've got my first haircut in the USA! It was really necessary, I couldn't live with my dead/dry hair any longer, haha. First I visited Rosalie at the Visitor Center again (she remembered me!), because I was finding out about the best hairdresser to go to in Fort Bragg (which is affordable too). There turn out to be in Mendocino County, which is Fort Bragg and Mendocino together, 39 hairsalons in total! Unbelieveable, if you look at how small Fort Bragg and Mendocino are together. The last three days with Angelika were great, she is such a nice girl and we can really get along! We are still working on the test-baking for the january-high tea, which is more an excuse to eat A LOT, haha. We have been cooking for everybody too two nights in a row, first night we did a vegetable lasagna en the night after we made ratatouille-quiche (Angelika's recipe). Today she has an appointment at the hairdresser where I went to, and after that we'll do some more test-baking (yeaaah) and probably go out for a walk, because it's another sunny day in Fort Bragg! Two days ago, I received the Christmascard from the family Engelen. It's so nice to receive mail every now and then and I am happy that people are willing to write to me that much :D Yesterday another two helpers arrived: Victoria and Adam from Seattle. They are here in the Weller House to make a set-up and do some marketing for a writer's retreat Vivien wants to host. They are very spiritual-thinking and they're also both on a gluten-free and high-vitamin diet. Victoria just gave me one of her berry smoothies, absolutely delicious! I needed that, after my run this morning (yes I am still trying to stay a little bit in shape, I somehow have to next to all the baking (read: eating) we've been doing). However, they are making some exceptions in their gluten-free diet, because they couldn't resist our quiche and wafels. Vivien is gone for two days, she is taking a class in Tango somewhere out of Fort Bragg. But with no guests (we could ofcourse always have walk-ins) it's kind of easy to keep the things going here as long everybody is working together. Last night Angelika and I went out for pizza at Piaci's and after that we went together with Brian and John to the beach to have a goodbye-bonfire for John, because it was his last night at the Weller House (see pictures). It was really nice and Brian invited Angelika and me (+ her friend and Emese) for one of his houseparties in Berkeley he and his fellow students are hosting at the end of February! Plus, we can also crash there and hang out for a couple of days. Angelika and I were allready planning on seeing eachother again around the 18th of February, for a shared-ride along highway 1, Big Sur and Monterey, together with on of her best friends and Emese, who will both be coming soon to California. Hopefully I can drive a little bit as well, I have to keep up my driving skills here haha. And what better way is there to end our highway1-trip at a party in Berkeley, San Franciso? :)

Anyways, it's so nice to have my days-off now, and we all have more time to go on some daytrips. Friday Brian's girlfriend Alex is coming and on Saturday we were planning on visiting the Avenue of the Giants, the Redwood National Forest! Let's hope the weather is going to be as nice as the past few days,it'll be fun!

So all's going well, starting my last couple of weeks in Fort Bragg, and then it's time to travel further through Californiaaaaaa with Emese :D

Big Hug!

Charlotte

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Charlotte

Hello dear friends and family! As you all know, I will be travelling through the USA the coming 5 months! I decided to keep an online diary, so you can all read my daily adventures I'm having back there. I would very much like if you would post a comment every now and then, so I know what you guys are up to back in Europe! This is hopefully an easy way to stay in touch with each other. Looking forward! Lots of love, Liefs, Alles Liebe, Charlotte

Actief sinds 11 Nov. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 224
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20620

Voorgaande reizen:

21 November 2012 - 19 April 2013

USA trip!

Landen bezocht: